Discussion:
seed 6761 question
(too old to reply)
Ryan
2010-06-25 17:31:11 UTC
Permalink
Player 3 deals
The top card on the kitty is: QC
Computer (CMA) Player 4 (9S,9H,10H,10S,KD) > Player 4 passes
Computer (CMA) Player 1 (10D,JD,9D,AH,AC) > Player 1 passes
Computer (CMA) Player 2 (KC,KS,JH,QH,10C) > Player 2 passes
Computer (CMA) Player 3 (JS,9C,QS,AD,JC) > Player 3 is going alone.
Player 3 is picking up QC and discarding AD.

This makes the hand (JS,9C,QS,JC,QC) with a VOID in Diamonds, your
computer discards QS to have the hand (JS,9C,AD,JS,QC). I don't know
why because

"If the player is the dealer and is ordered up, its first choice will be
to create a void in a non-trump suit."

Please note that it dose say in the rules a disclaimer:
"When it is the dealer’s turn, he/she may also choose to accept the suit
as trump by picking up the top card
on his/her own. In this case, it is not called "ordering up" and there
is simply no term for it."

BUT there is no alternative logic provided for this case and it was put
in as a side note so I don't see why it would have different logic?
Joanne Atlee
2010-06-25 20:49:38 UTC
Permalink
Post by Ryan
Player 3 deals
The top card on the kitty is: QC
Computer (CMA) Player 4 (9S,9H,10H,10S,KD) > Player 4 passes
Computer (CMA) Player 1 (10D,JD,9D,AH,AC) > Player 1 passes
Computer (CMA) Player 2 (KC,KS,JH,QH,10C) > Player 2 passes
Computer (CMA) Player 3 (JS,9C,QS,AD,JC) > Player 3 is going alone.
Player 3 is picking up QC and discarding AD.
This makes the hand (JS,9C,QS,JC,QC) with a VOID in Diamonds, your
computer discards QS to have the hand (JS,9C,AD,JS,QC). I don't know
why because
"If the player is the dealer and is ordered up, its first choice will be
to create a void in a non-trump suit."
"When it is the dealer’s turn, he/she may also choose to accept the suit
as trump by picking up the top card
on his/her own. In this case, it is not called "ordering up" and there
is simply no term for it."
BUT there is no alternative logic provided for this case and it was put
in as a side note so I don't see why it would have different logic?
After discarding QC, our_euchre's Player 3 has the hand
(JS,9C,QC,AD,JC), with a void in spades (JS is the left bower of the
club trump). Since it creates a void by discarding a lower valued card.


Jo

Loading...